massnanax.blogg.se

Visual basic operator
Visual basic operator





  1. #VISUAL BASIC OPERATOR HOW TO#
  2. #VISUAL BASIC OPERATOR CODE#

To do that, you can use the Contains method of the array: If arrayset1.Contains(userinput1) Then How would the language know what you mean? Do you want to see if the array only contains a single integer which is the same value as the other integer? Or do you want check if the array contains a specific value in its list of integers? You need to be more exact about your intentions.īased on your example, I assume that you want to see if the array contains the entered integer.

#VISUAL BASIC OPERATOR HOW TO#

The language doesn't know how to do that. The error message is saying that you can't use the = operator to test if an array of integers is equal to a single integer. Integer() is an array of integers, whereas Integer is just a single integer. The write functions and inputs will be populated by database references.

#VISUAL BASIC OPERATOR CODE#

P.S just to note there'll be no "Console.WriteLine" and such in the code being entered to CrystalReports, there will also be no user input. My question basically is, in what way am I incorrectly using arrays that's causing me issues? or if there is an error in how i've formatted my code, what is it?Īny other suggestions of how I may go about this other than what I've outlined above are welcome. I have another loop using "SelectCase" that's also clean(er), so failing this I still have that loop. With only 14 variable values at this point in time there isn't much issue with using "Or" like that, but there's a chance of the amount of variables increasing, and I would in that case like to keep this clean. if userinput1 = 1 Or userinput 1 =2 Or userinput1 = 3 Or userinput1 = 4 Then I had another 'version' of this loop where instead of using arrays I compared userinput1 to its value directly using. I have been trying to make it work, but most of my attempts lack useful direction due to lack of knowledge in VB (and not knowing relevant search terms to my issue.) To be completely honest I'm not sure why I'm receiving this, and what exactly the difference between "Integer" and "Integer ()" is that's preventing them from being used with the '=' operator. Im writing and testing this in Visual Studio 2017 Community, and when I run the code I receive the error "BC30452 Operator '=' is not defined for types 'Integer' and 'Integer()'." The loop below is the one I'm having an issue with: Dim userinput1 As Integer = Nothingĭim arrayset1 = New Integer() 'this is just to keep with array formatting, no real reason for the 1 value array other than thatĬonsole.WriteLine("Value Entered = " & userinput1)Ĭonsole.WriteLine(userinput1 & "_SUFFIX1")Ĭonsole.WriteLine(userinput1 & "_SUFFIX2")Ĭonsole.WriteLine(userinput1 & "_SUFFIX3")Ĭonsole.WriteLine(userinput1 & "_SUFFIX4") I have 2 working loops so far, but wanted a third to give the user more option to which they want to use. I currently don't have access to CrystalReports on my system so I'm testing the loops/decisions as VBScripts to see if they'll work. I've come across a task whereby I need to use VB in CrystalReports to make simple formulas to decide what information to populate the formula containing field. For example: Imports OldList = Ĭonsole.WriteLine(NameOf(OldList)) 'displays "OldList"Ĭonsole.WriteLine(NameOf('m new to Visual Basic having no prior experience, other than using office macros (made by others and not myself) and crash coursing myself over the past 1-2 days, so pardon the basic nature of my question. The operator also uses the name of the reference that is typed in without resolving any name changing imports. Imports SystemĬonsole.WriteLine(NameOf(IO)) 'displays "IO"Ĭonsole.WriteLine(NameOf(System.IO)) 'displays "IO" This is important when handling something like namespaces in the NameOf operator. The NameOf operator only uses the last component of the reference in the brackets. This will also allow the renaming tool to rename both with a single effort. With NameOf, renaming the variable only will raise a compiler error. If variable Is Nothing Then Throw New ArgumentNullException(NameOf(variable)) The old syntax will expose the risk of renaming the variable and leaving the hard-coded string to the wrong value. If variable Is Nothing Then Throw New ArgumentNullException("variable") One of the use cases: Sub MySub(variable As String) The NameOf operator resolves namespaces, types, variables and member names at compile time and replaces them with the string equivalent. Comments after implicit line continuation.Short-Circuiting Operators (AndAlso - OrElse).







Visual basic operator